Located in the former railroad station adjacent to the North Ferry Terminal, the East End Seaport Museum and Marine Foundation features an ever-expanding array of maritime collections.
Famous for famous for its oyster and fishing industries, Greenport also played important naval roles during the American Revolution and the Spanish American War. Greenport was also a principal whaling port, and served as a major ship-building port launching over 500 vessels, ranging from schooners to barques, between 1830 and 1850. The port’s importance continued in the later 19th and early 20th century by creating a sea link between New York and Boston with twenty side-wheel steamers. Greenport also played a part in shipbuilding during WWII, building and launching a fleet of more than 50 small warships designed to serve as minesweepers, sub chasers, and tugboats. One, the YMS 382, was the last allied warship to be sunk by a U-boat in WWII.
Beyond maritime concerns, the East End Seaport Museum also offers demonstrations of iron working with hands-on experiences for children at their Village Blacksmith Shop.
Housed in a replica of a building that dated from the 1870s and was destroyed by a storm in 1992, The Village Blacksmith shop gives you the opportunity to step back into the past and not just witness but even learn a little of the blacksmithing trade!
Greenport’s East End Seaport Museum and Marine Foundation also owns, operates, and maintains the historic Long Beach Bar or “Bug” Lighthouse, the working gateway to Greenport, Shelter Island, and Peconic Bay.
Tour cruises of the Bug Lighthouse and others in the area are available through the East End Seaport Museum in a variety of packages, including a Haunted House Lighthouse Cruise – spooky fun!
Greenport’s East End Seaport Museum and Marine Foundation
For more information on the East End Seaport Museum and Marine Foundation, please visit: www.eastendseaport.org