Long Island Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Over the years our Long Island Bed and Breakfast reviews Have been stellar. We have had thousands who leave glowing reviews in our guest books over the years. Here is a sampling of some of them

Others  can be Found on TripAdvisorBedandBreakfast.ComGoogle+, Yelp, and other long Island Bed and Breakfast review sites.

“Home away from home”

“The Arbor View House is the perfect place for a relaxing retreat. Wilfred and Veda are wonderful hosts. The accommodations are meticulously clean. The house is warm, cozy and inviting. The breakfast is bountiful not only in portion and creativity but in conversation. We enjoyed sitting leisurely at the communal table with Wilfred and Veda and the other guests getting to know one and other and sharing stories and laugher. We were treated like family. Wilfred and Veda shared their immense knowledge of the area and offered great suggestions for “not to be missed” sights and flavors. I highly recommend a visit to the Arbor View House. Looking forward to a return visit and catching up with our newly minted friends Wilfred and Veda“

lisa, Oct 2019

“What a lovely Bed and Breakfast!”

“We had to come out to Long Island / North Fork for a funeral, and we found this cozy B & B on line. The location was perfect, and we took the HAMPTON JITNEY out from NYC. The Jitney (great way to travel!) stopped right in front of the Arbor View.
Upon arrival in the afternoon, the genial host, Wilfred, met us, engaged us in delightful conversation, and offered us wonderful chocolate cake and tea !
The next morning, we had to miss the full breakfast, due to the funeral time, but Wilfred and Veda, his wife, left us fruit, muffins, and hot coffee and tea before we had to leave. Due to the lack of UBER in the area, Wilfed also found us a taxi to take to the funeral home.
Wilfred spent time with us asking about any dietary restrictions or allergies, and paid special attention to individual needs.
Although our room faced the street, it was quiet and peaceful. Our room had a ceiling fan (which we used), and A/C, which was not needed. The gas fireplace was in our room, if we needed it , but we didn’t.
The following morning, we were able to enjoy a wonderful full, gourmet breakfast provided by Wlfred and Veda. There were other guests, and we enjoyed meeting them, and sharing stories of the area, New York, and travels.
The Arbor View is immaculate, with stunning backyard landscaping. Our room was very clean, with a sizable bathroom, a big closet, and cable TV. It was quiet, and welcoming.
Thank you for making a sad weekend into an enjoyable stay!“

Jerseycouple, Somerset, New Jersey, Oct 2019

“Welcoming and Relaxing”

“My husband and I visited Arbor View House B&B in October as a sort of mini weekend getaway from the busy city. It was two months after we had our first born, so we were desperate for some rest and quality time (If you’re a parent, you know those first couple of months can be brutal). We were so thankful we got the opportunity. Wilfred and Veda are the kindest, most gracious hosts. The home is SPOTLESS and beautiful – furnished with cozy antique-style furniture, a fireplace, and even a piano. We were so grateful to Wilfred, who was super accommodating, as he stayed up and waited for our late late LATE check-in (babysitter issues). Our room was peaceful, quiet, and comfortable. We enjoyed great conversation with the other guests while eating the most delicious breakfast, prepared by Veda herself. The couple was very knowledgeable about the area and made some great recommendations for things to do and places to see. We had so much fun visiting the vineyards and trying all the different wines. When we left, we not only felt rested and rejuvenated, but we felt as if we were leaving family. I promised that we’d return again, and I intend to keep that promise. :-)“

Janique B, Oct 2019

“Arbor View House”

“Our first trip without the children had kicked off in Greenwich Village followed by five days in Nashville. Therefore, visiting the North Fork of Long Island was to be the true ‘holiday’ part and it didn’t disappoint.
Everything from beaches, winery visits to recommendations of where to eat in the very pretty Greenport would not have been as enjoyable without the personal commentary and recommendations from our very lovely hosts Wilfred and Veda. There is only so much the printed word can offer!
Their genuine warmth and extensive knowledge of the area made it a first class trip for us. You could listen to them both for hours!
Veda’s delicious home cooked breakfasts were a sight to behold and it was taken at a very leisurely pace which suited us very well. I can honestly say that we remained full until the evening.
The house is very charming and spotlessly clean. There was air con throughout.
We truly had the rest and relaxation required. We met some fabulous guests too so, it genuinely felt like we were staying with friends.
Thank you Wilfred and Veda very much ❤️“

lizmcdplc, Jul 2019

“Special Place to stay, a true gem!”

“Our first experience at Arbor View and first time at a B&B in the area.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you feel special.
Veda and Wilfred are warm, attentive, caring, intelligent, knowledgeable people who know how to run a B&B! The house is charming with historical accents. The entire house is immaculate and the property is picturesque. Very relaxing!! The town, vineyards and beaches are just minutes away. We enjoyed very much getting to know such wonderful people and would highly recommend staying at Arbor View!!“

Huntington, New York, Lisa R, Sep 2019

“We ate the most delicious breakfast consisting of an array of Veda’s specialties: her home-made “Caribbean fused” dishes”

“Arbor View is a warm, welcoming B&B in a quaint picturesque town in East Marion. Veda and Wilfred’s home is lovely, filled with vintage gems, clean, well appointed, and comfortable. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary, and birthdays and decided to return to Arbor View to catch up with old friends. Boy, was it worth it! Gracious hosts, both Wilfred and Veda welcomed us at the door. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and the bed was perfect. The best sleep was interrupted by the aroma of Veda’s cooking downstairs. We ate the most delicious breakfast consisting of an array of Veda’s specialties: her home-made “Caribbean fused” dishes. They are to die-for. Smashed Fried Plantain, Chick-pea curry, Ratatouille, Ackee and Saltfish stew, Biscuits… yes, this was breakfast folks!!! The best part of the meal was sitting with our hosts and sharing LIFE anecdotes and learning the history of the area.
Wilfred suggested many eateries including a winery. The Kontokosta Winery is a waterfront winery and tasting room five mins from Arbor View. From the sweeping bluffs overlooking the Long Island Sound we sampled wine and enjoyed a beautiful view. On the way back to Arbor View, we took a moment to savor what had to be the most incredible sunset I’ve ever seen. Amongst the many amazing restaurants, our fave was up the road, walking distance, The Hellenic. Sourcing fresh, often organic ingredients, we enjoyed a traditional Greek meal. The wine list was impressive; I chose a glass of the “David Finney” “E” red… a Spanish wine truly out of this world. We could go on. Thank you, Wilfred and Veda. You gave us a safe and warm place to unwind. We look forward to seeing your lovely smiles again soon. God Bless both of you and Arbor View.“

AKVD, Sep 2019

“Leisurely stay at a charming B&B located in the heart of the North Fork”

“I stayed at Arbor View with my 24 year old daughter. The location is great, just a 5-10 minute drive from most activities that you want to do in the North Fork. The accommodation was spotless and has a charming Victorian feel. Breakfast is served at a leisurely pace with coffee available at 8 am and a lavish delicious home cooked meal served at 9:30. If there are food restrictions/preferences they make a detailed effort to accommodate. The meal is enhanced with conversation with Wilfred and Vera who are engaging and a plethora of information. A stay at Arbor View has the intimacy of staying with family“

Enjoythetravel, Aug 2019

“Magical stay on the North Fork of Long Island!”

“We had the pleasure of staying at Arbor View House from the 20-25th of August this year. Wilfred and Veda are delightful and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable in their beautiful home.

Wilfred is an excellent source of information regarding the North Fork (and beyond) and provides maps and loads of info, as well as very good suggestions for places to visit, restaurants and walks.

Veda is a marvelous cook and guests are provided with such an amazing spread for ‘breakfast/brunch’ that you don’t need to eat again until dinner! Her dishes are varied and full of flavor.

The accomodation is immaculately clean, spacious and very comfortable. The house is quiet and the garden is lovely.

Overall, we couldn’t fault Arbor View House, nor it’s delightful hosts!“

London, United Kingdom, Louise F, Aug 2019

“Does not measure up to the price or other reviews!”

“We stayed in the Champagne Suite recently for a weekend, and were very much looking forward to it based on the glowing TripAdvisor reviews. I’m writing this review because it reflects our experience and because it’s the kind of review I would have benefited from before booking.

From the moment of arrival, the experience seemed off. Wilfred met us and we sat with him in the living room while he grabbed his laptop. We were fully paid up but were happy to meet with him to hear more about the house, amenities, breakfast, etc. We arrived around 4:30 and were keen to have as much time outside while the sun was out; the check in, despite being pre-paid, oddly took about 45 minutes. During the time, he mentioned that breakfast was served at 9:45 am. We were surprised about the one option of relatively late breakfast timing (compared to other B&Bs, and in general) as it’s summer, and most people want to start their day on the earlier side to enjoy the weather and get the most out of the day. He responded with “Oh, you’re one of those people,” which is a strange thing to have said to you upon arrival, let alone when you ask something fairly standard like breakfast before 9:45 am. The room was clean and comfortable, but worth noting that it’s under dormers (something not apparent from web photos), so it was relatively dark with low ceilings and small windows. The bed was not uncomfortable, but it was very soft and likely at the end of its life. The room also faced the main road and cars could be heard zooming by (the a/c helped mask some of this noise). He gave us a “fire drill” orientation, pointing to the small window we should craw through in the event of a fire. I’m all for safety, but neither of us would fit through the window (and we’re not large people)—plus there was a cable running outside it and rusty screws protruding from the frame. It was a bit odd to have this degree of fire safety with what did not seem a viable plan if there was an emergency (which was not even top of mind until this drill). It’s worth saying that the bathroom was clean and modern and bright—not under the dormer ceilings, which made a huge difference. The main critique of the bathroom is the window being painted shut.

Fast forward to breakfast the next morning, we dutifully met in the living room at 9:45; the two other couples were already there (we learned they were told to meet at 9:30). At 10 a.m. we were told to go outside for breakfast. The tables were set but the folding chairs had not been situated yet, which we helped unfold. While there was a nice fruit cup out when we sat, the actual breakfast was finally served at 10:30 am. True to the other reviews, the breakfast was lovingly prepared and tasty, but given the late start required to partake, and the long dining time we decided not to have breakfast at the inn the next day. (The room was over $400/night and it was a shame to skip what we’d paid for, but we just couldn’t sacrifice the whole morning again.) When we told Wilfred we were skipping breakfast, he kindly asked if we would have coffee (one regular, one decaf, as discussed at length during the reservation process and was accommodated the first morning), and we said yes, coffee would be great. However, there was no decaf the next morning, and we were ready to start the day so my friend skipped coffee (not a big deal, but since we were skipping breakfast, lack of coffee was a bummer). Wilfred brewed some decaf later, but by the time we returned at about 10:30, they ran out of cream. Rather than running across the street to buy some more (there is a deli right across from the inn), they just apologized.

Overall it felt like we were guests in their house, visiting them, rather than customers paying a lot to enjoy the weekend on the beautiful North Fork. I would expect more flexibility and accommodation from owners running an inn. I would not stay here again and not recommend it to other travelers.“

Tourist, Aug 2019

“Relaxing stay with delicious food, cordial hosts & new friends”

“My girlfriend, Lis, and I enjoyed every minute of our three-day stay at this lovely bed and breakfast in Long Island’s wine country, mainly thanks to its amiable, talented hosts, Wilfred and Veda. From the first second of our visit at the gorgeous Victorian-style Arbor View House to the last, both hosts welcomed us with scrumptious food — including perfectly cooked eggs and mouthwatering chocolate cake — unforgettable stories from their fascinating lives, and excellent suggestions for touring the area. Lis and I wanted to stay at a quaint, romantic B&B, enjoy delicious wine at a variety of LI vineyards, relax at the beach, tour the seaside town of Greenport, and eat fresh seafood. Thanks to Wilfred and Veda, we exceeded those goals and achieved something serendipitous: we made new friends. We greatly appreciate Wilfred and Veda’s warm hospitality and can’t wait to return to their lovely home!“

Matt & Lis, Aug 2019

“Out Five Day Get-Away at the Arbor Vies House”

“We wanted to extend our thanks to Veda and Wilfred for being such gracious hosts during out stay in June of 2019. Veda is an outstanding cook and we looked forward to the feast she prepared for us every morning, cloth napkins, pretty dishes and silverware to top off the meal. Wilfred helped us make choices for things to do and both made sure that we were well taken care of. Their home was always spick-and-span clean. We are glad we had the opportunity to enjoy Veda and Wilfred’s hospitality!“

Amherst, New Hampshire, Sheryl G, June 2019

“Great start to my retirement!”

“My wife and I, and my son and daughter-in-law celebrated my retirement with a wine-tasting weekend on Long Island 6/22-24 and absolutely loved our stay with Wilfred and Vida at the Arbor View House. The rooms are beautifully appointed with antiques and everything is immaculate. We all commented how comfortable the beds were. Vida’s breakfasts were amazing. fresh…just delicious! Our morning’s were leisurely as we were regaled by Wilfred’s wonderful stories. And, his recommendations for dining out and shopping were spot on. Wonderful, warm and genuine couple; we left feeling we had made two new friends, and already planning to return again. HiGHLY recommended. A great value only minutes from the ferry.“

Coventry, Rhode Island, Charles B, June 2019

“Quaint B&B”

“Stayed at Arbor View in early June. Our room was very comfortable and we had use of a deck as well. The breakfast was delicious. We sat and talked with the innkeepers for hours afterwards. The B&B is close to the vineyards of the North Shore. We would definitely stay here again.“

Queens, New York, Gbcbd, June 2019

“A Good Time with Good Hosts”

“We stayed in early June, 2019. The grounds and our room were excellently kept. We stayed in the Champagne Room. It was well furnished with period furniture and was extremely clean.
The breakfast was homemade and plentiful.
Wilfred and Veda were delightful and were also knowledgeable about surrounding wineries and eateries.
We thoroughly enjoyed our two days and would strongly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.“

NorthStar, June 2019

“A gem in East Marion”

“Veda’s Caribbean themed breakfast is just the first peek into a sincere and heart-filled display of hospitality by this wonderful B&B gem in East Marion coupled with WIlfred’s attention to detail from the cleanliness of the property to the table arrangements and his warmth and sense of humor.“

Singapore, Singapore, Brian C, June 2019

“Great food and warm atmosphere”

“My wife and I stayed here for only one night but it was more than enough to see how warm and accommodating Vela and Wilfred were. The room was clean and had all the essentials. I asked them if I could have a cup cake for my wife’s birthday, and I found it in the room once we arrived which was very nice of them. The breakfast was amazing!“

Erjon, May 2019

“Memorial Weekend Getaway”

“My wife and I just had the pleasure of staying at the Arbor View House over Memorial Day weekend, we found the experience with Wilfred and Veda to be exceptional. Wilfred was a knowledgeable & gracious host and Veda’ cooking was amazing! Overall we found their B&B to be welcoming and clean, the location was perfect for the activities we were looking to accomplish on our trip. We look forward to a return visit in our future.“

MCaputo, May 2019

“Xmas gift from children”

“Just spent an enjoyable weekend at arbor view meeting our gracious hosts Veda and Wilfred. A warm welcome with tea and cake in the beautiful living room. Stayed in the “champagne suite” with lovely furnishings and bedding. Well kept period home and a home cooked breakfast and warm conversation with our hosts. Definitely recommend arbor view !“

Fort Myers, Florida, Tbft007, Apr 2019

“Excellent service, marvelous stay, lovely hosts”

“We came for two nights and were ready to stay two more… Wilfred and Veda are lovely and pleasure to stay with. We enjoyed the talks over breakfast and were impressed with the food and the efforts to meet our diet demands.
I am Vegan and Veda made wonderful dishes for me.“

New York City, New York, Niv E , Apr 2019

“Best B&B experience for the money”

“My wife an I are repeat customers of Arbor View House. We first came across the establishment a few years back and loved the experience. The house and rooms were well kept and clean. The service was above board of what you’d typically receive from B&B hosts. Alfred and Veda’s warm and welcoming demeanor took the edge off meeting new people and made us feel like one of the family; so much so, that we remembered their hospitality and booked another stay with them this past weekend for my wife’s birthday. In addition to the wonderful hospitality, the food was deliciously prepared with ingredients and spices that make you taste-buds jump! The only thing better than the food was the company and conversation. I would highly recommend staying there for a long weekend to enjoy the nearby wineries.“

DeSean D , Mar 2019

“Lovely hosts!”

“My husband and I really enjoyed our weekend away from our kids in the comfort of this quaint Victorian home just outside Greenport. But Wilfred and Veda really made the experience special. Such gracious, genuine and interesting people. It was such a pleasure spending time in their beautiful home and we highly recommend this b&b.“

KalliTV , Mar 2019

“Romantic Winery Getaway”

“Stayed at Arbor View House Bed & Breakfast for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Years. Veda and Wilfred were amazing hosts. Wilfred gave us great recommendations for which wineries to visit and we even received a coupon book that gave us free tastings at a few of the wineries we visited. Veda cooked us a delicious breakfast every morning. My husband and I are quite picky eaters but she was extremely accommodating and all of her food was absolutely amazing. We even got 2 homemade muffins to take home. What a treat! We have lots of amazing memories from our trip. We will definitely be back soon!“

Victoria K, Jan 2019

Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Instagram